MEA Human Rights & Excellence Award nomination due Friday

Friday is the deadline to nominate a fellow school employee for the 2013 MEA Awards for Human Rights & Excellence. Download a Nomination form.

Nominations are being accepted in the following categories:

  • Herman W. Coleman Human Rights Award, recognizing a program, a special event or a person that has demonstrably served to improve the quality of human relationships.
  • Connie Jackson Human Rights Award, given to MEA leaders who have championed the cause of ethnic minority members of the profession and demonstrated a commitment to the enhanced involvement of ethnic minority members of the MEA
  • David McMahon Human Rights Award, presented to individuals or groups outside of the MEA that distinguish themselves by courageously accepting the challenge of moral and ethical leadership in the field of human and civil rights.
  • Elizabeth Siddall Human Rights Award, recognizing MEA members who have developed and implemented programs that have enhanced international or intercultural awareness among educators and their students.
  • Maurine Wyatt Feminist Award, honoring educators -- female or male -- who exhibit a high degree of commitment in their professional and personal lives to feminism and human and civil rights for all people.
  • Excellence Awards, provided for outstanding performance and service in one several categories: Educational Excellence; Bilingual Education; Gender Equity, Multicultural Education; Education and Support of Persons with Disabilities; and Migrant Education.

The awards will be presented at the MEA Human Rights & Excellence Awards Banquet on April 26 at the Lansing Center in Lansing.