Student Programs Advisory Committee

Start Date




Kelly Stevens (MSU)



Vacancy (MSU)



Kaileigh Schippa (CMU)



Bridgette Buse (FSU)



Ashley Monahan (FSU)



Danielle Burelle (SVSU)



Vacancy (U of M Flint)



Vacancy (U of M Dearborn)



Madeline Alonso  (WMU)



Vacancy (Oakland Univ)



Christina Brown (Baker College)



Brandon Shamoun (Wayne State)



Stephanie Sepko (Wayne State)

Vice Chair

Start Date




Chandra Madafferi (2014-BD-Reg 7)



Eric Minore (2015-BdM-Reg 10)



Richard Hosking (2016-MEA Retired)


Staff Liaison

Joyce Phelps


2013-14 Charge:

To help ensure that the education of our students and the working environments of our members are of the highest quality.

To help develop local capacity by the identification and development of policies and strategies that will enhance the long term viability of SMEA and the expansion and growth of University Chapters.

Committee Charge:  To provide professional development and leadership opportunities for pre-service members of the association.

The committee will:

  • Assist staff with the planning, organization and evaluation of the Student Professional Development Conference.
  • Recommend strategies and assist in the recruitment of minority members.
  • Provide advice and support for the creation, organization, successful operation and growth of local student organizations on college and university campuses.
  • Represent the MEA student program at local, state and national meetings and conferences.

Joyce Phelps

Staff Liaison
SMEA Program
1216 Kendale Blvd.
East Lansing, MI 48823

800-292-1934 ext. 6262


Student MEA Home