38 outstanding public school students awarded 2013 MEA Scholarship

EAST LANSING, Mich., April 12, 2013 — The Michigan Education Association today announced the recipients of the 2013 MEA Scholarships, honoring exemplary public school students from across the state who will be attending a Michigan public university next fall.

Among the 1,116 applications submitted for scholarship awards this year, the MEA Scholarship Fund Trustees chose 20 new award recipients who will each receive $1,500. In addition, 18 repeat winners who are already enrolled in college will receive $750 each.

Since 1997, the MEA Scholarship Fund has awarded 410 scholarships totaling $440,790 to graduates of Michigan public high schools.

The general criteria for awarding the scholarships include academic achievement, extra-curricular activities as well as school and community service.  All other criteria being equal, children of MEA members and students from lower income households are given first consideration.

The MEA Scholarship Fund is financed through voluntary contributions of members, staff and friends of the Michigan Education Association.

This year’s winners include (in alphabetical order by school district):

20 New Winners - $1,500 each

  • Samantha Chhan from Crestwood High School (Crestwood School District)
  • Marwa Harp from Fordson High School (Dearborn Public Schools)
  • Noumi Chowdhury from Cass Tech High School (Detroit Public Schools)
  • Cydnei Henry from Renaissance High School (Detroit Public Schools)
  • Erich Eberhard from St. Clair High School (East China School District)
  • Ashley Rall from Galesburg-Augusta High School (Galesburg-Augusta Community Schools)
  • Nicholas VanAcker from Grand Ledge High School (Grand Ledge Public Schools)
  • Alina Chau from Holland High School (Holland Public Schools)
  • Elizabeth Lytle from Ithaca High School (Ithaca Public Schools)
  • Ozema Braddock from Everett High School (Lansing School District)
  • Nichole Bowman from Melvindale High School (Melvindale-Northern Allen Park Schools)
  • Andrew Beck from North Dickinson High School (North Dickinson County Schools)
  • Emma Davis from Negaunee High School (Negaunee Public Schools)
  • Gabriella Reihanian attends Michigan State University from North Muskegon High School (North Muskegon Schools)
  • Levi Drumm from Quincy High School (Quincy Community Schools)
  • Makenzie Thelen from St. Johns High School (St. Johns Public Schools)
  • Jake Huneau from Academy for International Studies (Utica Community Schools)
  • Tyler Janish from Whittemore-Prescott High School (Whittemore-Prescott Area Schools)
  • Sarah Noble from Theodore Roosevelt High School (Wyandotte Public Schools)
  • Andrew Morgan from Yale High School (Yale Public Schools)

18 Repeat Winners - $750 each

  • Michelle Vanhala attending Central Michigan University from Big Rapids High School (Big Rapids Public Schools)
  • Heather Nowak attending University of Michigan from Caseville High School (Caseville Public Schools)
  • Maizie Kineman attending Grand Valley State University from Charlotte High School (Charlotte Public Schools)
  • Sean McNeil II attending Michigan State University from Cheboygan High School (Cheboygan Area Schools)
  • Caelah Doerr attending Michigan State University from Corunna High School (Corunna Public Schools)
  • Cody Cousineau attending University of Michigan from Escanaba Area High School (Escanaba Area Schools)
  • Rebecca Brewster attending University of Michigan from Grosse Pointe South High School (Grosse Pointe Public Schools)
  • Karalyn Kiessling attending Michigan State University from Harper Creek High School (Harper Creek Schools)
  • Victor Arribas attending University of Michigan from Lake Orion High School (Lake Orion Community Schools)
  • Katelyn Kelel attending Michigan State University from Winston Churchill High School (Livonia Public Schools)
  • Peter Shahin attending University of Michigan from Midland High School (Midland Public Schools)
  • Anna Sheufelt attending Saginaw Valley State University from Okemos High School (Okemos Public Schools)
  • Nathan Wood attending University of Michigan from Orchard View High School (Orchard View Schools)
  • Erika Trigg attending University of Michigan-Flint from Center for Arts & Sciences (Saginaw City School District)
  • Samuel Scott attending University of Michigan from Sault High School (Sault St. Marie Area Schools)
  • Alexander Ethridge attending Michigan State University from Swartz Creek High School (Swartz Creek Community Schools)
  • Katie Priestley attending Grand Valley State University from Newberry High School (Tahquamenon Area Schools)
  • Hillary Karbowski attending Central Michigan University from Three Rivers High School (Three Rivers Community Schools)

 “The mission of the MEA is to ensure that the education of our students and the working environments of our members are of the highest quality.”

Contact: Doug Pratt, MEA Director of Public Affairs, 517-337-5566