Chris DeFraia: Sharing a Rich Resource for Educators

Ferris State University Professor Chris DeFraia has experienced many of the same effects from the global health crisis as other educators. For one, the MEA member misses sharing advice, encouragement, and friendship with colleagues. In addition, his genetics and biology students have seemed less engaged as the pandemic and mitigation measures to contain the virus have […]

Nominations sought for ESP Caucus Board

Editor’s Note — The information below regarding nominations for the ESP Caucus Board is rerunning from the February-March issue of the Voice. One correction and a date change are noted below. Nominations are being accepted for several positions on the MEA ESP Caucus Executive Board. Open positions are as follows: PRESIDENT: 1 Position – Sept. […]

2021-22 AEM Election

The election for AEM President/NEA-RA Delegate, AEM Vice President, AEM Secretary-Treasurer, and AEM NEA-RA Alternate Delegate will be held March 20, 2021-March 25, 2021. Speeches from each of the candidates can be found below. Online voting will open on Saturday, March 20 at 5:00 p.m. and end on Thursday, March 25, 2021 at 5:00 p.m. To […]

Focus on Retaining Educators During the Pandemic

Stress and burnout for educators and students is at an all-time high during the pandemic, as everyone struggles with the ever-changing learning requirements brought on by COVID-19. But the shortage of educators (both teachers and support staff) was already at a crisis point before the virus changed our world last March – and the current […]

Career & Technical Programs Making A Difference

Despite the pandemic, career and technical education programs are still an important option for students – and a critical training pathway for our economy. That’s why Gov. Gretchen Whitmer proclaimed February to be Career and Technical Education Month. “There are many career pathways that can lead to a rewarding future, and it’s important that Michigan students […]