Innovative Educators Named

Nine MEA members have joined the state’s new Innovative Educator Corps, a grant program from the Michigan Department of Education recognizing educators who utilize an innovative program, methodology, or strategy to prepare students for future career success.

Each IEC member receives a $5,000 grant and $5,000 stipend to expand, replicate, and share their innovative practices with other educators. The grant and stipend can be renewed for up to an additional two years.

Watch for the August-September issue of MEA Voice magazine to read the first stories in a new series about innovation that MEA members bring to public education in Michigan.

Here are the newest MEA members of the IEC:

  • Rebecca Arbic, Sault Area Public Schools
  • Natalie Daversa, Oxford Community Schools
  • Amy Kuntz, Caro Community Schools
  • Erin Maturen, Montrose Community Schools
  • Lori Morningstar, Flushing Community Schools
  • Andrew Ratke, Grand Haven Area Public Schools
  • Randy Scott, Davison Community Schools
  • Benjamin Shoemaker, Mason Public Schools
  • Robert Thomson, Alpena Public Schools
Newsroom Teachers