MEA and Ferris Faculty Association Respond to Senate’s Rejection of Qualified Educator to FSU Board

Retired Ferris State University professor Michael Ryan, Ph.D.

EAST LANSING — Michigan Education Association President Paula Herbart and Ferris State University Faculty Association President Charles Bacon issued the following statement Thursday in response to the Michigan Senate’s unfair rejection of Michael Ryan, Ph.D., to the FSU Board of Trustees:

“It is unconscionable that Senate Republicans would reject Gov. Whitmer’s appointment of Dr. Michael Ryan to the Ferris State Board of Trustees, especially given Dr. Ryan’s unmatched qualifications and his exemplary record of service to the university, students, families and the Big Rapids community. Even worse, the Senate GOP unfairly rejected Dr. Ryan’s appointment without even holding a single hearing and allowing him to answer questions about his qualifications for the position.

“The Senate’s despicable action today is the latest in a disturbing pattern of partisan assaults against Michigan educators and public learning institutions. Our state legislators must stop these attacks and instead come together to support Michigan students, educators and families.”

For News Media Newsroom


Photocomposition of school desk on a one dollar US bill

ESSER Expenditure Deadline Looms Large Over Local Schools

The deadline for spending $5.57 billion of federal money sent to Michigan school districts amid the pandemic looms large in many places that still lag behind the pace needed to allocate those dollars in time. The funding came in the form of the Elementary and Secondary School Emergency Relief (ESSER) program during the COVID-19 pandemic’s […]

42 outstanding public school students awarded 2023 MEA Scholarship

EAST LANSING — The Michigan Education Association announced Friday the recipients of the 2023 MEA Scholarships, honoring exemplary public school students from across the state who will be attending a Michigan public university this fall. Among the 422 applications submitted for scholarship awards this year, the MEA Scholarship Fund Trustees chose 23 new award recipients […]