MEA Awards Nominations Open – Submit Nominees by Dec. 31

Three statewide MEA awards are open for nominations through the end of this year – one to recognize a group or individual outside of MEA focused on human rights and two for educators demonstrating leadership in feminist and gender equity or educational excellence.

We all know stellar colleagues in our PK-12 and higher education circles who deserve recognition for important work they do. Maybe you partner with an allied organization or individual that should be honored for efforts toward the greater good.

It’s not hard to put forth nominees via this nominating form, but time is short. The nomination window is open through Dec. 31. Nominating individuals or groups must be MEA members in good standing. If the nominee to be considered is an MEA member, the person must be in good standing. Nominations should be sent to MEA Vice President Brett Smith at

The following awards will be given out at the MEA Winter Conference in March:


David McMahon Human Rights Award

Outside individual or group accepting the challenge of more and ethical leadership in the field of human and civil rights.

This award recognizes individuals or groups outside the MEA which distinguish themselves by courageously accepting the challenge of moral and ethical leadership in the field of human and civil rights. David McMahon, as a teacher-leader, a MEA Board member, and as a MEA President, acted on his beliefs and initiated policies that resulted in an organizational commitment to protecting and enhancing the human and civil rights of all MEA members.

Maurine Wyatt Feminist and Gender Equity Award

Committed to feminism and human and civil rights for all people and committed to the development of a project, program or study that promotes the value and talents of women.

This award honors educators, female and male, who exhibit a high degree of commitment in their professional and personal lives to human and civil rights. The work must contribute to gender equity in education and must be adaptable to the classroom.

Educational Excellence Award

Committed to educational excellence and concern for improvement of student-focused education.

This award honors individuals committed to educational excellence and concern for improvement of student-focused education. The nominee should have demonstrated commitment to educational excellence and a concern for the improvement of student-focused education.

Take a look at the nomination form, and prepare to lift up a deserving individual, group or organization by Dec. 31!

Home-Sidebar Newsroom


MEA member Melissa Lambert, a librarian at Allen Park High School, with MEA Vice President Brett Smith (center) and Allen Park Education President Joel Burkey.

Allen Park school librarian awarded top state honor

Thanks to the hard work and dedication of its school librarian, Allen Park High School’s library was recently recognized as Michigan’s 2023-24 “Model 21st Century School Library.” The Library of Michigan’s “Model SL 21” designation, awarded to one school library each year, recognizes “high-quality school libraries and library media specialists” and aims to replicate their […]

New survey: Student outbursts, threats pose challenge for teaching and learning environments

EAST LANSING — Michigan educators are facing significant challenges to both student learning and their own workplace satisfaction due to an increase in disruptive student behavior, according to a survey released Tuesday by the Michigan Education Association, the state’s largest educators union. A majority of educators surveyed reported experiencing student outbursts, damaged property or verbal […]