Meet the 2020-21 MiNE team

Anthony Barnes: “Educator, not a job, a Lifestyle.” Kalamazoo Public Schools

Brittney Maczala: “Never stop exploring, learning, and growing.” Monroe Public Schools

Colin Campbell: “Where do we go from here?” Royal Oak Schools

Jordan Baines: “Preparing today’s children for tomorrow’s opportunities.” Troy Public Schools

Jaycob Yang: “Teaching students to live their truth.” Utica Community Schools

Skye Kapinus: “Wonder, discovery, growth; shaping the future.” Lansing School District

Amanda Henderson: “German speaker, always trying, always learning.” Rochester Community Schools




NEA President Leads Roundtable Discussions with MEA President, Local Educators, Administrators & Students at Farmington Public Schools 

FARMINGTON, Mich. – Following the largest education investment in Michigan’s history of $17 billion – which closed the funding gap between the highest- and lowest-funded school districts all without raising taxes – National Education Association (NEA) President Becky Pringle met with Michigan Education Association (MEA) President Paula Herbart, educators, school administrators, and students from Farmington […]

Studies Review Student Performance and Third Grade Retention

Two reports on Michigan students’ performance in the 2020-21 school year were released on Tuesday – one looking at K-8 learning gains on benchmark assessments given at the beginning and end of the year and the other a review of third-graders identified for retention under the Read by Grade Three law. The two reports echo findings […]